Xero integration frequently asked questions
Why didn't my customer or supplier sync to Xero?
Newly created customers/suppliers in SAM will not display in the Xero contact list for customers/suppliers until they have at least one transaction. You can find them in the Xero All contact listing though.
Why don't I see my SAM transactions in Xero?
There could be a few reason why a transaction is not showing up in Xero:
- Only invoices and finalised purchase orders are uploaded to Xero
- The transactions contact has been archived in Xero
- The connection to Xero may have been interrupted or is offline
- Historical transactions will not sync to a new Xero connection
- There is unexpected data in the transaction and Xero has rejected the upload
Any errors in the sync to Xero are recorded in the Xero History listing as failed transactions.
The notification alarm bell will display the number of errors that need investigating. Click on the alarm bell to open the notification screen and then the failed Xero transaction listing to investigate and to try and re-post to Xero.
When does the data sync to Xero occur?
The data sync is live. The only non-live data sync are payments made in Xero. These payments are synced when the corresponding invoice is opened in SAM
How do I manage debtor (customer) accounts or send statements?
There are two parts to this
Account balances statements etc
Managing debtor accounts is best managed within your Xero account. While you will be invoicing customers from within SAM and you may be entering payments either directly into Xero or into SAM, all debtor account management should be managed within Xero. SAM will send invoices etc to Xero; from there Xero manages the balances and statements etc.
- For more information on managing statements in Xero, please see:
- There is also a further report in Xero you may find useful for managing debtor accounts:
Names has to be managed in SAM, if names are edited in Xero then the connection between Xero and SAM for that customer is broken
Always manage customer names in SAM
Will customers/suppliers deleted from SAM also be deleted from Xero?
No, deletion (actually, "archiving") of contacts from Xero has to be done in Xero. Deleting customers in SAM will only remove them from SAM. Read more about archiving Xero contacts here: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Archive-or-restore-contacts
Please NB: You will also have to remove them from SAM as well.
Merging Customers / Suppliers
It is important that if you have any duplicate supplier/client accounts that you merge them in SAM rather than merging them in Xero. See the link below for more detail and step by step instructions on merging suppliers/customers:
?? Need more help ??
Our Support team are here to help, click here to get in touch with us.